Tukwut Leadership Awards Night recognizes student leaders


Jeffrey Davis

Naseli Fotoohi accepts her award for Outstanding Freshman at the 2016 Tukwut Leadership Awards.

Andrea Martinez, Copy Editor


With an old-fashioned “Extra! Extra!” newspaper theme, the 2016 Tukwut Leadership Awards Night (TLAN) gave recognition to CSUSM student leaders with students, staff and faculty in attendance.

The event occurred on the evening of Wednesday, April 20 at the USU Ballroom to recognize the work of CSUSM’s student leaders.

Starting off the event was the recognition for the Best New Student Organization, awarded to the American Association of University Women.

“We are all so honored to receive the award. We are currently the only organization on campus whose primary mission is to empower women and educate on issues related to gender inequality, so we wanted to be as active as possible,” said President Maylin Caldwell. “This semester has been spent ensuring that we make the most positive impact possible on our campus and our community, and this award is a culmination of our hard work.”

Another standout in the awards ceremony was Carolyn Proskow, winner of the Dean of Students Leadership Award.

“To be surrounded by family, loved ones, friends, mentors and other leaders who have impacted my life in such enduring ways was just surreal, and my heart in that moment was so full,” Proskow said. “I will walk away from CSUSM in May with many accomplishments to call my own, but none more important to me than gaining the strength to share my story.”

Other awards for individual student leaders were given to an outstanding freshman, sophomore, junior and senior, who were each recognized for their Cougar pride.

Ryan Callenta was awarded for Outstanding Sophomore Student, receiving recognition for his leadership in Alpha Psi Rho as treasurer and his roles in the Greek Leadership Council, Associated Students Inc., the 2016 Leadership Fast Track and the 2016 LEAD Retreat.

“It was truly an honor! I wasn’t expecting it when I saw the other nominees. I think this award is just a reminder that your actions don’t go unnoticed, good or bad. I started off just trying to be more involved and this award encourages me to do even more for this campus,” said Callenta.

In addition to the TLAN winners, eight students were recognized as Civility Champions and 84 students were recognized for the Tukwut Leadership Circle.

Here is a complete list of all the award winners:

Best New Student Organization: American Association of University Women

Most Outstanding Program or Event: Inside Out Movie H.O.P.E. and Wellness Center

Campus Organization Member of the Year: Aeriell Woodhams

Campus Organization of the Year: TLC-Peer Leadership Team

Student Organization Member of the Year: Christine Cook

Student Organization the Year: Accounting Society

Advisor of the Year: Amber Puha

Dean of Students Leadership: Carolyn Proskow

Outstanding Freshman Student: Naseli Fotoohi

Outstanding Sophomore Student: Ryan Callanta

Outstanding Junior Student: Miguel Magana

Outstanding Senior Student: Daniel Geiszler

Cougar Wall of Fame: Hannah Hawker and Kadie Heck